Now that I have a 13 month old almost 14 on my hands I am always looking for new recipes to make for her.  She is a pretty good eater and will try anything.

I love Pinterest and I get a lot of ideas for recipes there.  However, this time I just looked up a Carrot fritter recipe to get an idea of what goes in it but just kind of winged it myself.

First I pealed and grated two carrots.  Then I chopped half a small yellow onion.  I then added some grated cheese.  This time I used mozzarella, but I normally use whatever cheese I have which is normally gouda.  And I put the cheese and onion amount to taste.  Then I mix up the onions, cheese and carrots.

Next I mix up some eggs, I used 2 this time but it depends of large of a portion of carrots you are using.  Then I mix the eggs in.  In the future I will probably mix the flour (you can use whatever flour you have, I just only had white but I am sure gluten free or whole wheat would be fine) in with the eggs so it’s more even.  However, I have normally just put in a handful at a time till it’s a little stiff so you can flatten on the frying pan.  This time I put 3 handfuls in.  Mix it well.

img_5468

This is what mine looks like before I cook it up.

Michaela was helping me in the kitchen too…..

img_5467

img_5472

Now I use coconut oil for pretty much everything.  I like the taste and I don’t think it’s as bad for you as other oils so I don’t mind giving it to Michaela.

I put the heat to medium and then flatten the carrot batter onto the pan.

img_5475

Then as they brown I will flip and squish them flatter so they cook more evenly.  They take about 2 mins give or take on each side.  Just cooked them till they are brown.

img_5493

This is my finished product.  It made about 11 fritters.  I put them in the freezer and just pop them into the toaster oven to heat up.  I am sure you can use the toaster or microwave oven, I just don’t have a toaster and I don’t like using the microwave too much.

What I used:

2 medium sized carrots pealed and grated
1/2 small yellow onion diced (to taste)
1/2 cup of grated cheese (to taste)
2 eggs beaten
1/4 cup of flour
2 tbsp of coconut oil for the pan

img_5481

Here is Michaela’s lunch.  I gave her some plain greek yogurt for the fritters but she just likes yogurt for anything.

As you can see here she really likes her lunch.

img_5486

Once you make a batch you can use it over the next couple months for lunches.  Its easy and quick and you know your little one is getting veggies.

