My parents separated when I was 2 years old and my sister was 4.  She started seeing my Stepdad just shortly after the split.  My Mom was 26 and my Stepdad was 23.

Now, I am not ashamed of my age and I am 32 currently, same with my husband and I cannot imagine having 3 kids and being under the age of 25.  Then on top of that imagine starting a relationship with someone when I was 23 who had 2 kids.  I don’t think I would have been responsible enough at the time.  So kuddos to my Mom and my Stepdad.

I can say I had a strained relationship with my father.  He wasn’t a bad man or anything just didn’t really put in any effort.  I have no ill feelings towards my Dad now (after some therapy), and I see him every time I am in Canada and we have a pretty good relationship now.  Thankfully, I had an amazing Stepdad to be that father figure while I grew up.

420703_570095809582_22696712_nThis was taken Camping I must have been 4 or 5. (left to right: Mom, Sister, me, Cousin and Mike)

I know Step-parents can have this bad name associated with them.  I don’t ever think that, because I had a really good experience.  I think it is because most Step-parents either have no kids and are in a situation where they don’t know how to be around children.  And those that do have children now have to learn to love children that are not their own.

I believe my Stepdad was always meant to look after kids that are not his own.  I am so thankful to have him in my life and be a part of raising me and my sister.  He is such a loving person and was always so much fun to be around.  From playing barbies, chasing us around with bubbles on his head and playing restaurant with us.  He even convinced us we wanted a race car set for Christmas so my mom would buy us it and he could play it. ha ha

img_5216-2Picture taken August 2016 in Toronto

I am definitely a better person because he was a huge influence in my life.  My Dad is very introverted while Mike is a extrovert, funny, and loving.  I am definitely not introverted and I am very social. He was also very loving and some of my favourite memories are climbing into bed with my Mom and Mike and talking about my day or just life in general.  I did that until I moved out when I was like 26.

Then when I met Liam he was little hesitant about accepting him into my life.  To him I am his baby, the youngest and we had more of a bond because I only remember him as my father more so than my sister. However, he eventually accepted Liam once we moved to Ireland and then even more so once we had Michaela.   They even inseparable when we were home in August.

img_8548Taken in Toronto in February of 2016 (left to right: Me, Mike, Michaela, Mom and my sister)

My parents never had any children together once my Mom split from my Dad.  Mike was really our father as we didn’t see him very much when we were younger.  He looked after us while my Mom was at work and he was starting out as a Comedian.  He was basically a kid himself and I remember having so much fun.  He was always playing games with us.  He never got mad at us and I can remember only a few times when he actually got mad when we were older and we didn’t know how to react.  I never really knew how to deal with him when he was mad because we didn’t see it often.

My parents had a great relationship together and I got to witness it.  He would travel for work for a couple of months (one thing I couldn’t do) and it worked for them.  They were loving and affectionate.  They had their ups and downs and always got through it.  They never married but have been together for 3o years.

img_5194-2

He is an amazing Grampy now as well.  He is smitten by my little offspring.  He gets to do all the fun stuff like feeding her and playing with her and then he can hand her back when she cries or needs to be changed.  It’s unfortunate that we don’t see my parents often, as this is their first grandchild but thankfully Skype is an amazing thing and we visit as much as we can.

